Astronomical Society of the Republic of China 2018 Scientific Assembly (ASROC2018) National Quemoy University, Quemoy May 18 - 20, 2018

The 2018 Scientific Assembly of the Astronomical Society of the Republic of China (ASROC2018) will be held at National Quemoy University on May 18 (Friday) – 20 (Sunday), 2018. This is an annual event for all astronomers and astrophysicists in Taiwan to present their most recent discoveries and observations, to report their latest research results, to exchange ideas, and to organize Oral presentations and conference posters in all areas of astronomy and collaborations. astrophysics are solicited. ASROC2018 is also an excellent venue for students, in particular graduate students, to present their research findings or progress from their thesis studies.

The meeting will include plenary talks, scientific and educational sessions, poster presentation, and a business meeting. The featured plenary speakers are 1) Prof. Roger Chevalier of University of Virginia. 2) Prof. Lynn Cominsky of Sonoma State University. Prof. Roger Chevalier, a member of National Academy of Science, will give a plenary talk on "Superluminous Supernovae", and Prof. Lynn Cominsky, the project director for the NASA Education and Public Outreach Group, will talk about "High-energy Views of the Universe"

In the Assembly, the Society will also present the 5th Heaven Quest Award to Distinguished Research Fellow Ronald Taam for his distinguished contributions to astronomical research, and the 5th Heaven Talk Award to Taichung Amateur Astronomers Association for their outstanding contributions to astronomy education and popularization of astronomy. In addition to the scientific agenda, a conference banquet will be held at the noon of May 19 (Sat) and all meeting participants are welcome to attend; the afternoon is reserved for group discussions or group excursions of choice. Exhibitions of astronomical books and instruments are also planned during the meeting.

ASROC2018 website is now open for registration and abstract submission. The deadline for online registration is April 29 and for abstract submission, March 31. Participants of the Scientific Assembly should submit their abstracts and register on-line. A registration fee of NT\$1,000 (NT\$800 for students) should be paid on site. Please contact the hotel for the reservation.

Program Committee

Chu, You-Hua (ASIAA; Chair) Woo, Tak-Pong (NTU) Chin, Yi-Nan (TKU) Tseng, Wei-Ling(NTNU) Ngeow, Chow-Choong (NCU) Lai, Shih-Ping (NTHU) Chen, Bing-Chih (NCKU) Kuo, Cheng-Yu (NSYU)

Local Organizing Committee

Lu, Li-Shin (NQU; Co-Chair) Yang, Steven (Kinmen County Education Bureau) Tsai, Sung-Hui (Jincheng Junior High School) Wang, Andrew (ASIAA; Co-Chair) King, Sun-Kun (ASIAA) Chou, Mei-Yin (ASIAA) Chiu, Cindy (ASIAA) Lin, Suh-Lian (ASIAA)

