Welcome to ASROC 2013 Annual Meeting

The 2013 Scientific Assembly of the Astronomical Society of the Republic of China (ASROC2013) will be held at National Penghu University of Science and Technology on May 24 (Friday) – 26 (Sunday), 2013. This is the annual event for all astronomers and astrophysicists in Taiwan to demonstrate their most recent discoveries and observations, to report their latest research results and to exchange ideas, also to organize cooperation when desirable. Oral presentations and conference posters in all areas of astronomy and astrophysics are solicited. ASROC2013 is an excellent venue, too, for students, in particular graduate students, to present their research findings or progress from their thesis studies.

The meeting will include plenary talks, scientific and educational sessions, poster presentation, and a business meeting. The featured plenary speakers arec1) Prof. Andrew Fabian of University of Cambridge, a Fellow of the Royal Society and also the President of the Royal Astronomical Society (2008-2010), the award recipient of the Rossi Prize (2001) of American Astronomical Society (AAS), the Dannie Heineman Prize (2008) of the AAS and American Institute of Physics (AIP) and the Gold Medal (2012) of the Royal Astronomical Society, and 2) Dr. Donald Goldsmith of Interstellar Media, also the winner of the Science Writing Award (1986) of AIP, the Dorothea Klumpke- Roberts Award (1990) of Astronomical Society of the Pacific (ASP) in popularization of astronomy, the Annenberg Award (1995) of AAS in astronomy education, and the Award for best science book of the year (2004) from Amazon.com. The titles of plenary talks are Probing Strong Gravity with Accreting Black Holes and The Past, Present, and Future of Searching for Extraterrestrial Life, respectively.

ASROC2013 website has been online since January 16; participants of the scientific assembly should submit their abstracts and register online. The abstract submission deadline is March 31, and the on-line registration deadline is April 15. A registration fee of NT$500 should be paid on site.

The Astronomical Society cordially invites you to participate in this annual event with all the many interesting and exciting activities. Given the meeting period overlapped the annual Penghu Firework Festival, participants of ASROC2013 are strongly encouraged to make travel arrangements and hotel booking as early as possible (you can visit Transportation & Accommodation for more information). Please also pay attention to the latest updates of our website, thank you.

Latest News
Program Committee
Local Organizing Committee
  • Chang, Hsiang-Kuang (NTHU)
  • Chang, Kuei-Lan (TAM)
  • Chen, Bing-Chih (NCKU)
  • Chi, Hsin-Chang (NDHU)
  • Chin, Yi-Nan (TKU)
  • Chiueh, Tzihong (NTU)
  • Chou, Yi (NCU)
  • Kuan, Yi-Jehng (NTNU; Co-Chair)
  • Tseng, Yao-Huan (ASIAA; Co-Chair)
  • Wang, Shiang-Yu (ASIAA)
  • Chen, Chao-Min (NCKU)
  • Hsu, Rue-Ron (NCKU; Co-Chair)
  • Hsu, Yu-Sen (NTNU)
  • Hung, Chien-Lun (NPU; Co-Chair)
  • Liu, Pei-Ju (NTNU)
  • Liu, Sheng-Yuan (ASIAA; Co-Chair)
Download poster: A4/A1 size